top of page



In rural Iowa, we are surrounded by agriculture and its impact on America's economy every day, yet many children in our region are still unsure of the origin of their food. It's not uncommon for today's youth to believe chocolate milk is produced by brown cows—or even more surprising—the grocery store. This growing issue becomes more apparent as each day passes. Thus, Siouxland Agriculture in the Classroom was created.

A group of individuals who saw the need for increased agriculture education came together to create a non-profit organization to address this issue. We work to lessen the gap between producer and consumer that is so prominent in today's society. The programming provided by our organization gives students in the area the opportunity to learn where their food comes from and recognize the vital role agriculture plays in our lives. These youth are America's future buyers, voters and influencers. We need them to understand the importance of agriculture!​  


We have developed programs to implement agriculture into schools in a seven-county area, and we work to make agriculture a regular part of teachers' curricula. We not only provide classroom lesson plans for instructors, but are also a resource for presentations and in-class activities.

Sidney Riemenschneider serves as the Education Specialist for Siouxland Agriculture in the Classroom. She started in August of 2022. She graduated from South Dakota State University with a degree in Animal Science specializing in beef cattle and meat science with a minor in Ag Business . Sidney was heavily involved with 4-H and FFA, and showing cattle with her family. Her family helped strengthen her passion for agriculture as well as her desire to teach others about how important it is to all our lives. 


Siouxland Agriculture in the Classroom is recognized as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization; EIN 46-4562480.


Board of Directors

Shirley Schroeder President
Melissa Nelson Vice President
Dan Winterhof Treasurer
Angie Larson Secretary
Allyson Dirksen Legal Council
Eric Nelson-Woodbury
Dee McKenna-Woodbury
Rachel Wright-Monona
Minde Schuiteman-Sioux
Roger Bumann-Ida
Peg Becker-Plymouth

Karen Appleton-O'Brien
bottom of page